the life of richie

THE INCONSTANT GARDENER

Posted in is by Rich on July 24, 2011

I am feeling angry, so go over to my parents’ house yesterday morning. After venting, my mom looks out the window at her garden. “I’ve decided I’m going to let it all die,” she says, with sweet bitters in her mouth. “I water. I’m sick of watering. It’s just too hot. If these plants don’t have the gumption to survive, then let them die. The basil looks like it’s surviving. Everything else… And the grass. I want to just get brick everywhere. Everywhere brick. We can’t afford to waste water on this anymore.”

Yes; let us pave over everything that dies; everything that cannot handle the heat. Let us pave it all over into something clean and dead. One feels this way in the heat. In the heat, at the end of July.

Comments Off on THE INCONSTANT GARDENER